Celebrating Ogden Nash and his Humorous Poetry

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

"All that glitters is sold as gold."
- Ogden Nash -

I love words and playing with them.

My friend @dreemsteem is launching a series of Treasure Hunt Games on Steemit. She's honored me by asking that I produce a short post containing a word clue for that hunt. This is that post.

One of my favorite wordsmiths is Ogden Nash.

And so, for your amusement and enjoyment, and as part of @dreemsteem's "X MARKS THE POST Treasure Hunt debut" game, here is my post containing one of the important "clue words" for the game.

Who was Ogden Nash?

Nash was an American poet with a fascinating and quirky sense of humor and of timing. He wrote some very funny poems, poems I've both enjoyed and found inspirational.

One of my favorite and fun forms of poetry is the limerick. I've written a fair collection of them myself (the masochistically curious may want to check out the limerick section of my
Library Poetry Shelf <= CLICK IT).

Additionally, I also always admire, adore, applaud, and affix amazing ardor alongside ambitious attempts at alliteration.

During my recent visit to see @dreemsteem and her family, I was reminded of a limerick. The poem came to mind when I was fumbling furiously but futilely, fiddling with the flue of their fantastically fine, fiercely-flaming fireplace. When I looked up the limerick that I had remembered, I was surprised and pleased to discover it had been written by Ogden Nash.

One of my favorite authors of poetry writes a poem in one of my favorite poetry forms, and augments it with alluring alliteration?

What's not to like about that?

And so, in closing, here (and without further ado!), is one of Ogden Nash's finest limericks:


A Flea And A Fly In A Flue

by Ogden Nash


A flea and a fly in a flue
Were imprisoned, so what could they do?
Said the fly, "let us flee!"
"Let us fly!" said the flea.
So they flew through a flaw in the flue.



This post is an official stop on @dreemsteem's "X Marks the Post" Treasure Hunt. If you'd like to become a treasure hunter, an official stop, or a sponsor - Follow the map to begin your journey! By the way, she loves good comments even more than upvotes - so be sure to say Hi!


~FIN~



Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

I wanted to go back and read the posts from the Treasure Hunt and I'm glad I did cuz I dig your style. Gonna check out your stuff! Thanks

Thank you, @coachjj

Nice to "meet" you here today. I hope you'll enjoy what you find. You can browse my Library quite easily by clicking on the GIF below, which is linked to the top level Library page.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Wow! Thanks for the upvote; that was a pleasant surprise. Have a beautiful day. I hope to get to know you better since @dreemsteem said something along the lines of you being one of her favorite humans :)

hmmmmm all these alliterations......interesting!

I have not heard that limerick in such a long time....we used to carry it on further while sitting around a camp fire .... flea flea fly, flea fly flo, and on and on....until we laughed ourselves silly. We'd keep time by clapping our hands them slapping our legs. Oh to be around that fire again.

I do get carried away at times with my alliteration... Too much fun!

And I have great sympathy for a group laughing themselves silly. :D

I do believe you shall be around that fire once again... ;)

It's not one we have done around the campfire yet, I may have to teach it to our scouts.

I had never heard of Ogden Nash till you mentioned him on my post the other day - I have since looked him up and found many excellent poems including The boy who Laughed at Santa Claus - Thank you so much for introducing me to him!!! @dreemsteem I will try to get organised to follow your hunt :)

hooray!!!!! (and now of course - i need to find this poem about Santa Claus too hehehe)

do you seeeeeeeee people??? LOL there is GOLD in the comment section! you just have to be willing to mine for it!!! hehehehee

if you can't get ready in time for this week - hopefully you will be ready for NEXT week :) we'll be waaaaaaaaaaaiting for you hehehee

oh my goodness!!!! hahahahaha first this was the greatest line : He brushed his teeth, they said in town,
Sideways instead of up and down.

but then it turned so dark so quick!!!! and Donner and Blitzen!!! naughty reindeer hahahahahaha

Hahaha glad you liked it :)

Glad you've found Nash enjoyable. :D

Oh I surely did!!! I have posted another couple if you feel inclined to have a look - the one I did today I am most happy with :D

Remember vaguely reading some as a kid. Have to go back and check some out. { Piratey words here }

I hope you're enjoying the hunt! :D

You're lucky you make me laugh @enginewitty! LOLOLOLOL

I love poetry that makes smart use of words. There are some really nice in german. While this is not strictly poetry, it's very nice too:

Thanks for sharing this very cute short video.

You've put a big smile on my face. ;)

@creatr.... did you see this?!?!?! hahahahahahahaha i think you'll love it! :)

I had heard the name of Ogden Nash, but never read anything by him.

Now I have! Thank you.

You're quite welcome. :D

@dreemsteem created a hunt
For pirates who like a good stunt
So x marks the spot
If you want a shot
See @dreemsteem and give it a punt

Ah, a nice, poetic response! Excellent! :D

aye - she got herself a little extra for her efforts. that be the makin's of a good pirate!

ARGHHHHHH! this be a pleasin' sight to me old pirate eyes! Well. me one eye. The other is in a wooden mug on bedside table.
YE caught my attention! Accept this small token of me pirate booty! tip! simple :)

I'm glad you were looking in the right direction or you might have missed it with your good eye :P.... thank you for the tip - soon I can go on a shopping spree!! wanna come?

Hi @andysantics48! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

I had never heard of Ogden Nash! Now I have so thank you :)

You're more than welcome... Enjoy! :D

I love Ogden Nash. His poems are delightful. Perfect for a treasure hunt because he is a treasure! (See what I did there?)

Hi @creatr! How have you been?

Doing OK, thank you Jayna. Just too busy to write as much as I'd like. Cooking up ideas for some more fiction, just need some peace and quiet to try writing. Hope you're doing well also... Thanks for dropping by. ;)

I very much hope you are able to find the time and the peace! I’m managing to carve out time to write fiction (especially as I am in Write Club and you get kicked out if you don’t meet your deadlines!) but it is not easy to squeeze it into a busy schedule, especially since I work full time.

Anyway it’s great reconnecting with you. I will visit your blog to see what else you’ve been up to!

Arggggg. Capt'n Dreemsteem approves of this especially lovely comment.... sliding the treasure hunt in??? Methinks this is clever! Here's a little extra pirate booty fer yeee! tip! :)

Hi @jayna! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

@dreemsteem wrote lately about: Well This Was Not The Way I Planned #Nocomfortzone. Feel free to follow @dreemsteem if you like it :)

You can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

Thank you! I have not heard of @tipU before.

it is one of my favorite things to do! hehehehe

i tend to get a little overly generous with my upvotes - and then i have NOTHING. hahahaha tipping allows me to keep sending my appreciation while letting my VP recharge.

except. my VP never really recharges. sigh. lol the woes of a chronic upvoter. i need to write a post on this. hehehee but i highly recommend you do check @tipu out. i really enjoy it :)

(and - my minnow vote is only 9 cents at 100%. a 0.1 SBD tip is significantly more!!!!!!) makes me feel like a faux-dolphin hehehe

Oh my gosh, that is so enlightening. I have the exact same problem—I constantly deplete my VP! Thank you for the tip and the tip! 😁

I want to ask how to get upvote like you, I've tried the best .. but I really need to upvote, so that I can grow in my business have been posted well but no one supports me.

Hello, @asnawir,

You have only been on Steemit a very short time. Unless you bring many followers with you, it may take a long time to get good upvotes.

You might want to read the Steemit Guidance for Minnows (<= CLICK that link) section of my library, although I think there are other Steemit authors that have even better articles.

One thing you should never do is beg for votes! Most people don't like that. Just keep writing interesting posts (for example, like the one you wrote about the upside down house.)

Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 65626.89
ETH 3449.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33